updated 9:22 PM UTC, Jul 8, 2020

Weatherford defeats Hennigan in Tyler County GOP Sheriff's Race

The closely watched Tyler County Sheriff's race headlines this year's Primary, and challenger Bryan Weatherford ended up on top, defeating incumbent Sheriff David Hennigan 1,859 to 1,695. Weatherford took 52 percent of the vote. There were no democrats running for any of the contested office this year.

Incumbent Martin Nash retains his position as Commissioner Precinct 1, defeating Kent Gore 628 votes to 531. Nash took 54 percent of the total votes.

Dale Freeman won the Constable Precinct 1 race, pulling in 695 votes to Tim Scroggins 413.

In the Constable Precinct 2 race, John Fuller defeated David Davis with 633 votes to 387.

Trisher Ford wins the contest for Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, drawing 698 votes to Carol Anne Greer-Dowdy's 296 and William Beattie's 122.

For Constable, Precinct 4, GOP candidate Jim Zachary ran unopposed in the Repulican Primary and Anthony Ross in the Democratic Primary.

In other races, incumbent Nichols defeated Blair in the Texas Senate District 3 race with 47,274 votes to 15,162, and James White defeated Hamilton, 9,693 to 8,049.

There were a lot of candidates running for the newly created House District 36, and it looks like a runnoff between Stockman with 11,307 and Takack with 11,389.




Humidity: 100%

Wind: 14 mph

  • 03 Jan 2019 45°F 37°F
  • 04 Jan 2019 55°F 34°F