updated 2:19 PM UTC, Oct 15, 2020

Archive Banner

Archived Banner

Tyler County voters approved seven proposed amendments

In the Nov. 7 elections, Tyler County voters approved seven proposed amendments to the Texas Constitution while Woodville and Colmesneil voters filled council seats while residents of Frog Pond, Colmesneil ISD and Emergency Service District 3 having issues on the ballot.

Proposition 1, to provide property tax exemptions for partially disabled veterans or their surviving spouses if their home was donated to them by a charity for less than market value was approved with 87.89 percent of the vote.

Proposition 2, which would ease restrictions on home equity loans lowers the maximum fees for those loans and exempts certain charges from that maximum, was approved by 74.52 of Tyler County voters.

Proposition 3 also won support from 83.87 percent of local voters. It relates to the service of unsalaried officeholders appointed by the governor whose terms have expired. Those appointees can serve until the end of the next legislative session — when a new appointee could be confirmed by the Texas Senate.

Proposition 4, which requires courts to notify the attorney general of constitutional challenges to state laws, passed with 76.11 percent of the local vote.

Proposition 5 authorizing the charitable foundations of professional sports teams to hold a charitable raffle. It passed in Tyler County with 58.14 percent of the vote.

Proposition 6 got broad support in Tyler County, with 61.34 percent voting in favor of property tax exemptions to surviving spouses of first responders killed in the line of duty.

Proposition 7 gives banks and other financial institutions authorization to use raffles to encourage savings. Locally, 61.34 percent supported the proposition.

Woodville City Council
Joyce Wilson and Janice Weatherford each won terms on the Woodville City Council without opposition.
Byron L. Stowe retained his Place 5 seat over Elizabeth Grammer by a vote of 61-49.

Colmesneil ISD Board of Trustees
From a field of four candidates, Kenneth Adaway, Danny Brown and Kris Lindsey were elected to three seats on the board. Adaway received 99 votes, Brown 93, Lindsey 84 and Bo Bendy 54.

Voters in Emergency Service District #3 approved a measure to increase property taxes in the district to 6 cents per $100 by a vote of 23 to 16, giving the "for" votes a 66.67 percent majority.

Frog Pond
Voters in the Frog Pond subdivision approved the creation of a Water Control and Improvement District with 21 voting for, to 11 against.
Proposition B also passed, by a vote of 21 to 11.
Five directors were elected to the board, with five vacant seats to be filled.
Cris Thompson, Brenda Page, Bryan Long, Stanley Evans and Chris Hubert will serve as the initial directors for the new WCID.




Humidity: 100%

Wind: 14 mph

  • 03 Jan 2019 45°F 37°F
  • 04 Jan 2019 55°F 34°F